0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Browse All departments
Price
  • R50 - R100 (33)
  • R100 - R250 (1,046)
  • R250 - R500 (400)
  • R500+ (133)
  • -
Status
Format
Author / Contributor
Publisher

Books > Children's & Educational > Life skills & personal awareness, general studies > Personal awareness: family, relationship & social issues > Suicide, death & bereavement

The Brightest Star In The Sky (Hardcover): Chyemenn Santos The Brightest Star In The Sky (Hardcover)
Chyemenn Santos; Illustrated by Alberto Massetti 2
R198 Discovery Miles 1 980 In stock

Uncle Mike and I play hide and seek. And when its time for him to leave, he says "I'll see you soon, my Pumpkin. Well play some more next week." Uncle Mike didn't come back the next week and I didn't understand why. So Daddy picked me up, kissed my cheek and said, "There's something I want to show you, up in the sky."

The Brightest Star In The Sky is beautifully told, and helps children deal with the loss of a loved one.

Neverworld Wake (Hardcover): Marisha Pessl Neverworld Wake (Hardcover)
Marisha Pessl
R332 R260 Discovery Miles 2 600 Save R72 (22%) Within 7 - 11 working days
Boy, the Boat, and the Beast (Hardcover): Samantha M. Clark Boy, the Boat, and the Beast (Hardcover)
Samantha M. Clark
R302 R232 Discovery Miles 2 320 Save R70 (23%) Within 7 - 11 working days
Wild Blue Wonder (Hardcover): Carlie Sorosiak Wild Blue Wonder (Hardcover)
Carlie Sorosiak
R322 R254 Discovery Miles 2 540 Save R68 (21%) Within 7 - 11 working days
The Life and Death Parade (Hardcover): Eliza Wass The Life and Death Parade (Hardcover)
Eliza Wass
R311 R242 Discovery Miles 2 420 Save R69 (22%) Within 7 - 11 working days
Invisible Ghosts (Hardcover): Robyn Schneider Invisible Ghosts (Hardcover)
Robyn Schneider
R322 R254 Discovery Miles 2 540 Save R68 (21%) Within 7 - 11 working days
Oupa se eiland (Afrikaans, Hardcover): Benji Davies Oupa se eiland (Afrikaans, Hardcover)
Benji Davies; Translated by Carmen Hansen-Kruger
R143 Discovery Miles 1 430 Within 10 - 15 working days

Simon kuier graag by sy oupa vir wie hy baie lief is. Eendag toe hy daar kuier, wys Oupa vir hom 地 swaar deur op die solder wat, sodra jy daardeur stap, op die dek van 地 groot skip beland. Oupa en Simon seil saam na 地 wonderlike eiland waar hulle allerhande mooi dinge ontdek en 地 huisie bou. Toe hulle moet terugkeer, besluit Oupa egter om te bly. Hierdie boek vertel 地 mooi, maar hartseer storie op 地 avontuurlustige manier oor hoe kinders 地 geliefde grootouer groet, hetsy dit vir altyd is of tydelik.

Fadeaway (Hardcover): Maura Ellen Stokes Fadeaway (Hardcover)
Maura Ellen Stokes
R290 R224 Discovery Miles 2 240 Save R66 (23%) Within 7 - 11 working days
We Were Liars (Paperback): E Lockhart We Were Liars (Paperback)
E Lockhart
R189 R146 Discovery Miles 1 460 Save R43 (23%) Within 7 - 11 working days
Once and for All (Paperback): Sarah Dessen Once and for All (Paperback)
Sarah Dessen
R194 R153 Discovery Miles 1 530 Save R41 (21%) Within 7 - 11 working days
The Gone Away Place (Hardcover): Christopher Barzak The Gone Away Place (Hardcover)
Christopher Barzak
R317 R249 Discovery Miles 2 490 Save R68 (21%) Within 7 - 11 working days
Anger Is a Gift (Hardcover): Mark Oshiro Anger Is a Gift (Hardcover)
Mark Oshiro
R329 R211 Discovery Miles 2 110 Save R118 (36%) Within 7 - 12 working days

Moss Jeffries is many things--considerate student, devoted son, loyal friend and affectionate boyfriend, enthusiastic nerd.

But sometimes Moss still wishes he could be someone else--someone without panic attacks, someone whose father was still alive, someone who hadn't become a rallying point for a community because of one horrible night.

And most of all, he wishes he didn't feel so stuck.

Moss can't even escape at school--he and his friends are subject to the lack of funds and crumbling infrastructure at West Oakland High, as well as constant intimidation by the resource officer stationed in their halls. That was even before the new regulations--it seems sometimes that the students are treated more like criminals.

Something will have to change--but who will listen to a group of teens?

When tensions hit a fever pitch and tragedy strikes again, Moss must face a difficult choice: give in to fear and hate or realize that anger can actually be a gift.

Little Liar (Paperback): Julia Gray Little Liar (Paperback)
Julia Gray 1
R175 R129 Discovery Miles 1 290 Save R46 (26%) Preorder

Nora has lied about many things. But has she told her most dangerous lie of all?

There’s a new art assistant at Nora’s school, and he’s crossed a line. Nora decides to teach him a lesson he won’t forget.

But not everything goes quite to plan, and Nora needs an escape. She befriends the rich and talented Bel, who longs for a part in a remake of a famous film. Bel is unpredictable, jealous and crazy, but she opens up a new world for Nora, and that makes her irresistible.

As events start to spin wildly out of control, Nora must decide where her loyalties lie – and what deceits she can get away with.

Out of the Blue (Hardcover): Sophie Cameron Out of the Blue (Hardcover)
Sophie Cameron
R303 R233 Discovery Miles 2 330 Save R70 (23%) Within 7 - 11 working days
The Ruinous Sweep (Hardcover): Wynne Jones Tim The Ruinous Sweep (Hardcover)
Wynne Jones Tim
R332 R260 Discovery Miles 2 600 Save R72 (22%) Within 7 - 11 working days
In Her Skin (Hardcover): Kim Savage In Her Skin (Hardcover)
Kim Savage
R303 R234 Discovery Miles 2 340 Save R69 (23%) Within 7 - 11 working days
Things I'm Seeing Without You (Paperback): Peter Bognanni Things I'm Seeing Without You (Paperback)
Peter Bognanni 1
R179 R125 Discovery Miles 1 250 Save R54 (30%) Within 7 - 12 working days

Seventeen-year-old Tess talks to Jonah every day; through texts, tweets and emails. So when she discovers Jonah has committed suicide, her world implodes. Feeling heartbroken and traumatized Tess unexpectedly finds herself at her estranged father's house, wondering how well she really knew Jonah. Now, having dropped out of high school, struggling with questions about life and loss, Tess and her father come together to try and find the answers.

The Astonishing Color of After (Hardcover): Emily X. R. Pan The Astonishing Color of After (Hardcover)
Emily X. R. Pan
R332 R260 Discovery Miles 2 600 Save R72 (22%) Within 7 - 11 working days

"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down

A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng.

Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird.

Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life.

Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.

Confusion Is Nothing New (Hardcover): Paul Acampora Confusion Is Nothing New (Hardcover)
Paul Acampora
R282 R216 Discovery Miles 2 160 Save R66 (23%) Within 7 - 11 working days
The Boy, the Bird, and the Coffin Maker (Hardcover): Matilda Woods The Boy, the Bird, and the Coffin Maker (Hardcover)
Matilda Woods; Illustrated by Anuska Allepuz
R301 R237 Discovery Miles 2 370 Save R64 (21%) Within 7 - 11 working days
Good Dog (Hardcover): Dan Gemeinhart Good Dog (Hardcover)
Dan Gemeinhart
R294 R229 Discovery Miles 2 290 Save R65 (22%) Within 7 - 11 working days

Brodie was a good dog. And good dogs go to heaven. Except Brodie can't move on. He can't forget the boy he left behind. The boy he loved, and who loved him in return.The boy who's still in danger. So Brodie breaks the rules of heaven. He returns to Earth as a spirit. With the help of two other lost souls -- lovable pitbull Tuck and surly house-cat Patsy -- he is determined to find his boy and to save him. Even if it costs him paradise. Because it's what a good dog would do.

The Memory of Forgotten Things (Hardcover): Kat Zhang The Memory of Forgotten Things (Hardcover)
Kat Zhang
R304 R235 Discovery Miles 2 350 Save R69 (23%) Within 7 - 11 working days
Stranger Than Fanfiction (Paperback): Chris Colfer Stranger Than Fanfiction (Paperback)
Chris Colfer
R202 R162 Discovery Miles 1 620 Save R40 (20%) Within 7 - 11 working days
Love & Other Carnivorous Plants (Hardcover): Florence Gonsalves Love & Other Carnivorous Plants (Hardcover)
Florence Gonsalves
R310 R241 Discovery Miles 2 410 Save R69 (22%) Within 7 - 11 working days

A darkly funny debut for fans of Becky Albertalli, Matthew Quick, and Ned Vizzini about a nineteen-year-old girl who's consumed by love, grief, and the many-tentacled beast of self-destructive behavior. Freshman year at Harvard was the most anticlimactic year of Danny's life. She's failing pre-med and drifting apart from her best friend. One by one, Danny is losing all the underpinnings of her identity. When she finds herself attracted to an older, edgy girl who she met in rehab for an eating disorder, she finally feels like she might be finding a new sense of self. But when tragedy strikes, her self-destructive tendencies come back to haunt her as she struggles to discover who that self really is. With a starkly memorable voice that's at turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Love and Other Carnivorous Plants brilliantly captures the painful turning point between an adolescence that's slipping away and the overwhelming uncertainty of the future.

Summer Of Salt (Hardcover): Katrina Leno Summer Of Salt (Hardcover)
Katrina Leno
R307 R221 Discovery Miles 2 210 Save R86 (28%) Within 7 - 11 working days

Magic passed down through generations. An island where strange things happen. One summer that will become legend.

Practical Magic meets Nova Ren Suma's Imaginary Girls and Laura Ruby's Bone Gap in this lush, atmospheric novel by acclaimed author Katrina Leno.

Georgina Fernweh waits impatiently for the tingle of magic in her fingers--magic that has touched every woman in her family. But with her eighteenth birthday looming at the end of this summer, Georgina fears her gift will never come.

Over the course of her last summer on the island--a summer of storms, falling in love, and the mystery behind one rare three-hundred-year-old bird--Georgina will learn the truth about magic, in all its many forms.

Free Delivery
Pinterest Twitter Facebook Google+
You may like...
Neverworld Wake
Marisha Pessl Hardcover R425 Discovery Miles 4 250
The History of Jane Doe
Michael Belanger Hardcover R317 R249 Discovery Miles 2 490
We Are Okay
Nina Lacour Hardcover R302 R232 Discovery Miles 2 320
Everything Beautiful Is Not Ruined
Danielle Younge-Ullman Paperback  (1)
R208 R126 Discovery Miles 1 260
Scythe
Neal Shusterman Paperback R203 R148 Discovery Miles 1 480
The Complication
Suzanne Young Hardcover R314 R245 Discovery Miles 2 450
Big Cat, Little Cat
Elisha Cooper Hardcover  (1)
R304 R235 Discovery Miles 2 350
Everlife
Gena Showalter Hardcover R330 R258 Discovery Miles 2 580
13 Reasons Why
Jay Asher Paperback  (1)
R198 R123 Discovery Miles 1 230
The Key to Every Thing
Pat Schmatz Hardcover R286 R220 Discovery Miles 2 200

 

Loyalty partners