0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Children's & Educational > Life skills & personal awareness, general studies > Personal awareness: family, relationship & social issues > Suicide, death & bereavement

Buy Now

Troublemakers (Paperback) Loot Price: R155
Discovery Miles 1 550
You Save: R25 (14%)
Troublemakers (Paperback): Catherine Barter
Troublemakers (Paperback): Catherine Barter

Share your images

Troublemakers (Paperback)

Catherine Barter

 (2 ratings, sign in to rate)
List price R180 Loot Price R155 Discovery Miles 1 550 You Save R25 (14%)

Bookmark and Share

Usually dispatched within 4 - 8 working days.

In three years I will be able to vote and I will still have less power than I did at the moment that I saw that email, which was such a tiny thing but look what happened. Fifteen-year-old Alena never really knew her political activist mother, who died when she was a baby. She has grown up with her older half-brother Danny and his boyfriend Nick in the east end of London. Now the area is threatened by a bomber who has been leaving explosive devices in supermarkets. It is only a matter of time before a bomb goes off. Against this increasingly fearful backdrop, Alena seeks to discover more about her past, while Danny takes a job working for a controversial politician. As her family life implodes, and the threat to Londoners mounts, Alena starts getting into trouble. Then she does something truly rebellious. A searing, heartbreaking coming-of-age tale for fans of Lisa Williamson, Jenny Downham and Sarah Crossan.

General

Imprint: Andersen Press Ltd
Country of origin: United Kingdom
Release date: June 2017
Authors: Catherine Barter
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback - B-format
Pages: 384
ISBN-13: 978-1-78344-524-0
Barcode: 9781783445240
Categories: Books > Children's & Educational > Fiction
Books > Children's Fiction & Fun
Books > Children's Fiction & Fun > General
Books > Children's & Educational > Fiction > General
Promotions
Books > Children's & Educational > Life skills & personal awareness, general studies > Personal awareness: family, relationship & social issues > Suicide, death & bereavement
LSN: 1-78344-524-6

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

A beautifully written character-driven story.

Tue, 3 Oct 2017 | Review by: Sue H

Troublemakers is a beautifully written character-driven story. The rich multi-layered characters come to life on the pages against a well-developed background. But the pacing is slow in places and unless you’re as invested in the characters as I was this may bother you. Focusing on the effects of grief and secrets big enough to destroy. On family dynamics and friendships. And at the centre is fifteen-year-old Alena and her family consisting of her older brother Danny and his life partner Nick. I loved that the family unit is not a traditional one, but that aside from the secret (and secrets have a way of getting out!) works really well. In all other respects, Danny and Nick make really good parents and Alena is so lucky to have them. After reading the story I have no idea why it is called troublemakers. It gives the impression of a mischievous gang causing havoc. But does it portray the story? No, it really doesn’t. It portrays another story, one related but distant. Lena’s story needs her own title. Full review: http://crushingcinders.com/troublemakers-by-catherine-barter

Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1) | No (0)

Loyalty partners