0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Social sciences > Sociology, social studies > Social institutions > Customs & folklore > Customs

Not currently available

A Gracious Plenty (Paperback, illustrated edition) Loot Price: R332 Discovery Miles 3 320 You Save: R62 (16%)
A Gracious Plenty (Paperback, illustrated edition): John T Edge, Ellen Rolfes, Center for the Study of Southern Culture
A Gracious Plenty (Paperback, illustrated edition): John T Edge, Ellen Rolfes, Center for the Study of Southern Culture

Share your images

A Gracious Plenty (Paperback, illustrated edition)

John T Edge, Ellen Rolfes, Center for the Study of Southern Culture

 (1 rating, sign in to rate)
List price R394 Loot Price R332 Discovery Miles 3 320 You Save R62 (16%)

Bookmark and Share

Supplier out of stock. If you add it to your wishlist we will send you an email should it become available again.

A beautiful book, featuring hundreds of classic recipes, that captures the essence of Southern foodways.

In the tradition of The Junior League Centennial Cookbook, The Black Family Reunion Cookbook, and the regional and community cookbooks that are treasured by millions of home cooks, A Gracious Plenty is an exuberant celebration of the food and culinary traditions that define the character of the American South.

The more than 400 recipes--culled from community cookbooks representing a diversity of geographical and social influences--are only the first layer in this richly textured work. Throughout the book, evocative essays recall the distinctive food myths and stories of the South. Among the contributors, B. B. King remembers his sharecropping family; Roy Blount, Jr., talks of his mother's giblet and red-eye gravies; Edna Lewis praises dandelion greens and poke "sallet"; and Shelby Foote tells of buying hot tamales from a street vendor. These, and dozens of other meal memories, are testaments to the importance of family, community, and the gracious plenty of food in the South. Index.

* illustrated with black-and-white-photographs throughouttext printed in two colors

General

Imprint: HPBooks
Country of origin: United States
Release date: September 2002
Authors: John T Edge • Ellen Rolfes • Center for the Study of Southern Culture
Dimensions: 233 x 192 x 27mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback - Trade
Pages: 384
Edition: illustrated edition
ISBN-13: 978-1-55788-388-9
Barcode: 9781557883889
Categories: Books > Health, Home & Family > Cookery / food & drink etc > National & regional cuisine
Books > Food & Drink > National & regional cuisine
Promotions
Books > Humanities > History > History of specific subjects
Books > History > History of specific subjects
Books > Humanities > History > History of specific subjects > General
Books > History > History of specific subjects > General
Books > Social sciences > Sociology, social studies > Social institutions > Customs & folklore > Customs
LSN: 1-55788-388-2

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Loyalty partners