Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Fiction > Genre fiction > Science fiction

Not currently available

Xenophobia - Part 1 of the Zukunftsangst Series (Hardcover) Loot Price: R446
Discovery Miles 4 460
Xenophobia - Part 1 of the Zukunftsangst Series (Hardcover): Nathanael Rafferty
Xenophobia - Part 1 of the Zukunftsangst Series (Hardcover): Nathanael Rafferty

Share your images

Xenophobia - Part 1 of the Zukunftsangst Series (Hardcover)

Nathanael Rafferty

 (sign in to rate)
Loot Price R446 Discovery Miles 4 460

Bookmark and Share

Supplier out of stock. If you add it to your wishlist we will send you an email should it become available again.

The "Zukunftsangst Series" is a set of Science-Fiction novels in the tradition of "Island of Dr. Moreau," "Andromeda Strain" "Jurassic Park" or films such as "Blade Runner" and "Gattaca," i.e. they are more Science-Fact than Science-Fiction. Zukunftsangst is a German Cold-War term meaning "Fear-of-the-Future," which may best embody current paranoia of what the future may hold in store for humanity. The Zukunstangst Series is set in the near future, in a world devastated by man's activities, wherein global warming and biological pollutants, have lead to a calamity termed GC, the great calamity in which about 80% of all life perished. Those that remained were not very fortunate, as life was rendered sterile. In the opening novel, Xenophobia, the lead character Gerald Norton at an Oxbridge Institute fights a race against time to restore life to its former fertility. As extreme times call for desperate measures, he transplants human gonadal tissues into porcine hosts in an attempt to restore human life. In the opening chapters his effort is rewarded with the birth of 7 human babies. The other protagonist is Daniel, an environmental biologist, who following the destruction of all he loved and cherished, has retreated into a monastery, shunning all contact with human life, and in a very disillusioned state is trying to follow in the footsteps of St. Francis of Assisi. Due to a series of incidents and accidents, largely triggered by the investigation of a pair of overtly inquisitive reporters, the idyll of life restored to its former glory is dashed. Gerald is branded as a modern Frankenstein and a hapless Daniel inherits the fruits of his labours.


Imprint: Authorhouse
Country of origin: United States
Release date: August 2008
First published: August 2008
Authors: Nathanael Rafferty
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 19mm (L x W x T)
Format: Hardcover - With printed dust jacket / With dust jacket
Pages: 280
ISBN-13: 978-1-4343-8606-9
Barcode: 9781434386069
Categories: Books > Fiction > Genre fiction > Science fiction
LSN: 1-4343-8606-6

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Loyalty partners