0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction

Buy Now

Mount Pleasant - A Novel (Paperback) Loot Price: R246 Discovery Miles 2 460 You Save: R71 (22%)
Mount Pleasant - A Novel (Paperback): Patrice Nganang, Amy Reid
Mount Pleasant - A Novel (Paperback): Patrice Nganang, Amy Reid

Share your images

Mount Pleasant - A Novel (Paperback)

Patrice Nganang, Amy Reid

 (sign in to rate)
List price R317 Loot Price R246 Discovery Miles 2 460 You Save R71 (22%)

Bookmark and Share

Usually dispatched within 7 - 11 working days.

In Cameroon in 1931, Sara is taken from her family and brought to Mount Pleasant as a gift for Sultan Njoya, the Bamum leader cast into exile by French colonialists, when she is just nine years old. Sara's story takes an unexpected turn when she is recognised by Bertha, the slave in charge of training Njoya's brides, as Nebu, the son she lost tragically years before. In her new life as a boy, she bears witness to the world of Sultan Njoya - a magical yet declining place of artistic and intellectual minds. Seven decades later, a student returns home to Cameroon to research the place it once was, and she finds Sara, silent for decades, ready to tell her story. In her serpentine tale, a lost kingdom lives again in the compromised intersection between flawed memory, tangled fiction, and faintly discernible truth. The award-winning novelist Patrice Nganang's lyrical and majestic Mount Pleasant is a resurrection of the world of early-twentieth-century Cameroon and an elegy for the men and women swept up in the forces of colonisation. For readers of Maaza Mengiste and Taiye Selasi.

General

Imprint: Picador USA
Country of origin: United States
Release date: April 2017
Authors: Patrice Nganang • Amy Reid
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 26mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback
Pages: 384
ISBN-13: 978-1-250-11841-7
Barcode: 9781250118417
Categories: Promotions
Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction
LSN: 1-250-11841-7

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Loyalty partners