0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction

Not currently available

Getting Mother's Body (Electronic book text, ePub ed)
Getting Mother's Body (Electronic book text, ePub ed): Suzan-Lori Parks
Getting Mother's Body (Electronic book text, ePub ed): Suzan-Lori Parks

Share your images

Getting Mother's Body (Electronic book text, ePub ed)

Suzan-Lori Parks

 (sign in to rate)

Bookmark and Share

We have no sources for this product at present. If you add this to your wishlist we will let you know should it become available to order.

The debut novel from Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks is a gutsy, funny, tragic and completely original work for fans of William Faulkner and Alice Walker.In the 1950s, in a small southern town in the US, the Beedes are the lowest of the low. Always struggling, they remain shackled by poverty and their own lack of ambition. Everyone, but sixteen-year-old Billie Beede.Billy Beede has big ideas about her life. She's had the Beede misfortune to get pregnant by an itinerant coffin salesman. And when he proves to have a wife and seven kids in another town, she determines to try her luck elsewhere. The answer seems to be in the hem of her mother's dress, her mother who died ten years ago. The rumour is that Willa Mae - a Billie Holiday look-alike - was the only Beede who made good, and was buried with a pearl necklace and a diamond ring sewn into the hem of her dress.Billie - and all her relatives - aim to get their hands on this treasure and make something of themselves. What follows is a mad road trip that evokes shades of Faulkner - in its potent earthiness - but also has the approachability and warmth of novels like The Colour Purple. This is a fantastic debut novel from an accomplished and well-loved American playwright.

General

Imprint: Fourth Estate
Country of origin: United Kingdom
Release date: 2014
Authors: Suzan-Lori Parks
Format: Electronic book text - Reflowable
Pages: 304
Edition: ePub ed
ISBN-13: 978-0-00-739717-4
Barcode: 9780007397174
Categories: Promotions
Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction
LSN: 0-00-739717-8

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Loyalty partners