Your cart

Your cart is empty

Music > Pop / Rock

Buy Now

Various Producers - Ninja Tune XX (Part B) (CD, Imported) Loot Price: R296
Discovery Miles 2 960
  • This item is a special order that could take a long time to obtain.

Various Producers - Ninja Tune XX (Part B) (CD, Imported): Various Producers
Various Producers - Ninja Tune XX (Part B) (CD, Imported): Various Producers

Share your images

Various Producers - Ninja Tune XX (Part B) (CD, Imported)

Various Producers; Performed by Various Artists

 (sign in to rate)
Loot Price R296 Discovery Miles 2 960

Bookmark and Share

Our supplier does not have stock of this product at present, but we can create a special order for you. Alternatively, if you add it to your wishlist we will send you an email message should it become available from stock. Special orders from this supplier are normally fulfilled within 31 - 41 working days. Please note:

  • Special order items cannot be combined on an order with other items.
  • Special orders can sometimes take significantly longer than this estimate and sometimes our suppliers may be unable to fill a special order.
  • We cannot accept returns of special order titles.
  • If we haven't been able to get the product for you within about 3 months, we will automatically cancel the order and fully refund any payments that you have made.

New to special orders? Find out more.

n 1990, electronica duo Coldcut (aka Matt Black and Jonathan More) decided to turn their backs on major labels and, for better or worse, do it on their own. Twenty years and countless excellent electro, hip hop and experimental records later (with some forgotten ones along the way) and we arrive at this collection commemorating two decades of Ninja Tune, available in various states of comprehensiveness up to a six-CD and six-7" box set complete with a written history of the label. Happily, its not so much a retrospective as a State of the Ninja Nation address, compiling new tracks and exclusives alongside remixes from the labels premier league of artists. Quite simply, its an exhaustive, kaleidoscopic voyage that rewards the patient.

Its difficult to condense such a massive release into a few paragraphs, but suffice is to say its a mixed bag. Because the focus remains not on dredging up curios that were best left un-dredged, there are plenty of current artists featured. Stalwart Roots Manuva is remixed by art school grump-genius Micachu on Dub Styles, Toddla T and Diplo feature heavily, and the relentless entertainment factor of Spank Rock proves that theres more to Ninja Tune than cold electricity. Actually, digested in one sitting, the fruits of the label do seem much darker governed by bracing negativity and visions of urban decay but it's a curiously homely darkness.

Thats not to say its without humanity, because on hand to inject natural pulses and beauty into the mould are the loopy brass band that accompanies Diplos Newsflash, and the pastoral goodness of Grasscuts Blink in the Night. Cameo appearances from the Ninja Tune imprints are also littered throughout, most notable amongst them being Anti-Pop Consortiums Volcano (here mixed by Four Tet, proving the guestlist really is brimming with goodness). However, there is a tellingly slight guest appearance from Mercury Prize winner Speech Debelle she angrily left the Big Dada imprint when her album, Speech Therapy, failed to make much commercial impact.

With and without commercial success, Ninja Tune has proved that fanaticism, enthusiasm and nurture are the core elements to record label success. These traits are mirrored in the exhaustive nature of this optionally epic release, a towering testament to the label itself. Any dips in quality (and there are inevitably some) are made up for by the intent of the whole, a completists dream and fitting way to mark two decades in the industry.


Label: Ninja Tune
Country of origin: United Kingdom
Release date: September 2010
Originally released: October 2010
Contributors: Various Producers
Performers: Various Artists
Format: CD
Disks: 2
Categories: Music > Pop / Rock

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Disk 1

1 Sun Will Rise
2 Blink in the Night
3 Wonder When
4 I Hear the Drummer
5 Never Mess With Sunday
6 Endless Galaxy
7 $64k Rainbow
8 Eight Sum
9 The Terrorist
10 Witness
11 A Town Called Obsolete
12 Man in a Garage
13 Soft Room
14 The Beauty in Darkness
15 I'll Let You Know
16 Tomorrow
17 Post Suite

Disk 2

1 Fine Objects
2 Skeng
3 Drop the Other (Daedelus Fragments Into a Thousand Little Pieces)
4 Bloodstone
5 Foley Versions
6 Volcano
7 Eating Clouds
8 Pickled Spider
9 Toccata
10 Impossible
11 Trouble With a Capital D
12 Let the Spirit
13 Believe
14 Eyes Down
15 Tunnel

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Loyalty partners