Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Arts & Architecture > Music > Composers & musicians

Buy Now

Szymanowski's King Roger - The Opera and its Origins (Hardcover) Loot Price: R615
Discovery Miles 6 150
You Save: R36 (6%)
Szymanowski's King Roger - The Opera and its Origins (Hardcover): Alistair Wightman

Szymanowski's King Roger - The Opera and its Origins (Hardcover)

Alistair Wightman

 (sign in to rate)
List price R651 Loot Price R615 Discovery Miles 6 150 | Repayment Terms: R56 pm x 12* You Save R36 (6%)

Bookmark and Share

Expected to ship within 12 - 17 working days

Karol Szymanowski (1881-1937), the most important Polish composer after Chopin, wrote only two operas, the second of which, King Roger, completed in 1924, is a masterpiece. After decades of neglect this magnificent work hasbegun to receive more attention around the world, and this first extended study of King Roger investigates its origins, uncovers its ideology, examines its music and documents its history. The book opens with an outline of the role the theatre played in Szymanowski's career, from his early operetta, Lottery for Husbands, and the rousing ballet panotmime, Harnasie, based on legends from the Polish highlands. Intracing the evolution of King Roger from conception to completion, Alistair Wightman, one of the leading Szymanowki scholars, examines the contribution of the co-librettist, Jaroslaw Iwaszkiewicz, and serveys the various strands which make up its ideology, from Euripides The Bacchae and Plato Phaedrus and The Symposium to works by Pater, Nietzsche, Merezhkovsky and Micinski. He charts Szymanowski's fascination with the historical background of the opera, the world of the twelfth-century ruler of Norman Sicily, Roger II (1095-1154). Szymanowski's own novel, Efebos, written in 1918-19 and only partially preserved offers intriguing parallels with hisopera. ALISTAIR WIGHTMAN has written extensively about Polish music of the early twentieth century and his translation, Szymanowski on Music was published by Toccata Press in 1999.


Imprint: Toccata Press
Country of origin: United Kingdom
Release date: May 2015
First published: 2015
Authors: Alistair Wightman
Dimensions: 234 x 156 x 20mm (L x W x T)
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 171
ISBN-13: 978-0-907689-91-1
Categories: Books > Arts & Architecture > Music > Composers & musicians
Books > Arts & Architecture > Performing arts > Theatre, drama > Opera
Books > Music > Composers & musicians
LSN: 0-907689-91-4
Barcode: 9780907689911

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!