Your cart

Your cart is empty


Not currently available

Beethoven's Pianoforte Sonatas Explained for the Lovers of the Musical Art (Paperback) Loot Price: R244
Discovery Miles 2 440
Beethoven's Pianoforte Sonatas Explained for the Lovers of the Musical Art (Paperback): Ernst Von Elterlein

Beethoven's Pianoforte Sonatas Explained for the Lovers of the Musical Art (Paperback)

Ernst Von Elterlein

 (sign in to rate)
Loot Price R244 Discovery Miles 2 440

Bookmark and Share

Supplier out of stock. If you add this item to your wish list we will let you know when it becomes available.

This historic book may have numerous typos and missing text. Purchasers can usually download a free scanned copy of the original book (without typos) from the publisher. Not indexed. Not illustrated. 1879 edition. Excerpt: ... THE SONATA BEFORE BEETHOVEN. sJPHE earliest beginnings of the Sonata are found TM-towards the close of the seventeenth century. The first Sonatas appeared in 1681, for violin solo, by Henry Biber; then, in 1683, there appeared twelve Sonatas for violin, violoncello, and piano, by the violinist, Corelli. But more important as a composer of pianoforte Sonatas was Johann Kuhnau, Sebastian Bach's predecessor. He first wrote a Sonata in " B" in "Neuer Clavieriibung anderer Theil." Generally speaking, the form is the present one, the Sonata consisting of a quick, a slow, and then a quick movement. The style of writing is polyphonic, but the work fails in inward aesthetic connection. Kuhnau's next work appeared, in 1696, under the title of "Fresh Fruit for the Piano; or, Seven Sonatas for the Pianoforte, excellent in design and style, by Johann Kuhnau." These Sonatas show progress in form and in matter; they are full of B energy, vivacity, fresh grace, and also of deep feeling. They consist entirely of four or five movements, and the contrast of the quiet and agitated movement is found in many cases. The polyphonic treatment is predominant, though the homophonic sometimes breaks through, launching forth into free melodies. Single movements show yet greater artistic merit. Kuhnau is intellectually associated with Handel, by free polyphony and an energetic or clear treatment of melody. An inward sesthetic connection is already discernible in single movements. The next composer to be mentioned in this department is Mattheson. A Sonata appeared by him, in 1713, "dedicated to whoever will play it best." It consists of one movement only; the treatment generally is richer than with former composers, nor is the theme without merit; but the working of...


Imprint: Theclassics.Us
Country of origin: United States
Release date: September 2013
First published: September 2013
Authors: Ernst Von Elterlein
Dimensions: 246 x 189 x 1mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback - Trade
Pages: 26
ISBN-13: 978-1-230-19834-7
Categories: Books
LSN: 1-230-19834-2
Barcode: 9781230198347

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!