0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Humanities > Religion & beliefs > Aspects of religions (non-Christian) > Religious experience

Buy Now

The Meeting of Religions and the Trinity (Paperback) Loot Price: R949
Discovery Miles 9 490
You Save: R116 (11%)
  • This item is a special order that could take a long time to obtain.

The Meeting of Religions and the Trinity (Paperback): Gavin D'Costa

The Meeting of Religions and the Trinity (Paperback)

Gavin D'Costa

 (sign in to rate)
List price R1,065 Loot Price R949 Discovery Miles 9 490 | Repayment Terms: R87 pm x 12* You Save R116 (11%)

Bookmark and Share

Supplier out of stock. If you add this item to your wish list we will let you know when it becomes available.

One of the most discussed topics of our time is Christianity's relation to other religions. In this important new book, one of Britain's leading contemporary theologians develops a sharp and penetrating critique of the pluralist position. In the tradition of Alasdair MacIntyre and John Milbank, D'Costa shows that too often it masks a secularizing agenda, traceable to the worst
apects of Enlightenment modernity.
Even by its own criteria, pluralism does not succeed. D'Costa demonstrates this by exploring the 'meeting of the religions' in its
leading exponents from Christianity, Judaism, Hinduism and Buddhism. He discovers the influence of Western modernist thought or else a veiled exclusivism not only in Hick, Knitter, Cohn-Sherbok and Panikkar, but even in Radhakrishnan and the Dalai Lama. He then goes on to establish an alternative Trinitarian approach to interreligious prayer and tolerance, drawing on recent discussions of other
religions as 'vehicles of salvation'. The final section of the book represents the first major systematic theological study of interfaith
prayer.

General

Imprint: Continuum International Publishing Group Ltd.
Country of origin: United Kingdom
Release date: June 2000
First published: June 2000
Authors: Gavin D'Costa
Dimensions: 216 x 156 x 11mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback
Pages: 192
ISBN-13: 978-0-567-08730-0
Categories: Books > Humanities > Religion & beliefs > Aspects of religions (non-Christian) > Religious experience > General
Books > Religion & Spirituality > Aspects of religions (non-Christian) > Religious experience > General
LSN: 0-567-08730-1
Barcode: 9780567087300

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Partners