0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Fiction > Genre fiction > Adventure / thriller

Not currently available

53 Days (Hardcover, 1st American ed) Loot Price: R325
Discovery Miles 3 250
You Save: R111 (25%)
53 Days (Hardcover, 1st American ed): Georges Perec

Share your images

53 Days (Hardcover, 1st American ed)

Georges Perec; Edited by Harry Mathews, Jacques Roubaud

Series: Verba Mundi (Hardcover)

 (sign in to rate)
List price R436 Loot Price R325 Discovery Miles 3 250 You Save R111 (25%)

Bookmark and Share

Supplier out of stock. If you add this item to your wish list we will let you know when it becomes available.

Georges Perec, the celebrated author of Life A User's Manual (Godine, 1987), was working on this "literary thriller" at the time of his death. He had completed only 11 chapters of a planned 28, but left extensive drafts and notes supplying the rest of the mystery, as well as numerous twists and subplots. From these, Harry Mathews and Jacques Roubaud have assembled the elements of the unfinished mystery, along the way providing a fascinating view into the author's mind as he fashioned his literary conundrum.

Absorbing, allusive, and joyously playful, "53 Days" is the ultimate detective story. The narrator, a teacher in a tropical French colony, is trying to track down the famous crime-writer Robert Serval, who has mysteriously disappeared. Serval has left behind the manuscript of his last, unfinished novel, which may contain clues to his fate. From this beginning, Perec lures the reader into a labyrinth of mirror-stories whose solutions can only be glimpsed before they in turn recede around the corner.

In the tradition of Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None, Perec's "53 Days" is a supremely satisfying, engrossing, and truly original mystery. Like his previous work, it is also "a kaleidoscope of ingenious juxtapositions" (Le Monde) from one of the century's most inventive and important writers.

General

Imprint: David R. Godine Publisher
Country of origin: United States
Series: Verba Mundi (Hardcover)
Release date: March 2000
First published: March 2000
Authors: Georges Perec
Editors: Harry Mathews • Jacques Roubaud
Dimensions: 217 x 161 x 23mm (L x W x T)
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 256
Edition: 1st American ed
ISBN-13: 978-1-56792-088-8
Categories: Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction
Books > Fiction > Genre fiction > Adventure / thriller
Books > Fiction > Genre fiction > Adventure / thriller > General
Promotions
LSN: 1-56792-088-8
Barcode: 9781567920888

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Partners