0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Fiction > Special features > Short stories

Buy Now

How Are You Going To Save Yourself (Paperback) Loot Price: R274
Discovery Miles 2 740
You Save: R56 (17%)
How Are You Going To Save Yourself (Paperback): J.M. Holmes
How Are You Going To Save Yourself (Paperback): J.M. Holmes

Share your images

How Are You Going To Save Yourself (Paperback)

J.M. Holmes

 (1 rating, sign in to rate)
List price R330 Loot Price R274 Discovery Miles 2 740 You Save R56 (17%)

Bookmark and Share

Expected dispatch within 4 - 8 working days

'A blistering debut . . . Hilarious and compelling, Holmes offers up a mirror to contemporary society . . . a compassionate and powerful exploration of how race, friendship and sex intersect and the real-world consequences of stereotypes.' - Independent Summer Reads Both humorous and heart-breaking, How Are You Going To Save Yourself is a timely debut about sex, race, family and friendship for fans of Junot Diaz and Ta-Nehisi Coates. It explores the lives of four friends from the city of Pawtucket: Rydell, Lazarus, Rakim, and Giovanni, or more affectionately Rye, Dub, Rolls, and G. Once bound together by location and shared experience, their bonds fade and change as their adult lives begin to take different shapes. They are confronted with society's expectations of them, family pressures, and ultimately the way they see themselves - sometimes conforming, sometimes challenging the stereotypes. Ultimately they are trying not to fail themselves and the people they love.

General

Imprint: Sceptre
Country of origin: United Kingdom
Release date: September 2018
Authors: J.M. Holmes
Dimensions: 222 x 165 x 19mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback - Trade
Pages: 256
ISBN-13: 978-1-4736-7771-5
Barcode: 9781473677715
Categories: Promotions
Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction
Books > Fiction > Special features > Short stories
LSN: 1-4736-7771-8

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Loyalty partners