0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Reference & Interdisciplinary > Interdisciplinary studies > Area / regional studies

Buy Now

Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else (Paperback) Loot Price: R379
Discovery Miles 3 790
Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else (Paperback): James Meek

Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else (Paperback)

James Meek

 (1 rating, sign in to rate)
Loot Price R379 Discovery Miles 3 790

Bookmark and Share

Expected to ship within 10 - 15 working days

In a little over a generation the bones and sinews of the British economy - rail, energy, water, postal services, municipal housing - have been sold to remote, unaccountable private owners. In a series of brilliant portraits James Meek shows how Britain's common wealth became private, and the impact it has had on us all.
In a series of panoramic accounts, Meek explores the human stories behind the incremental privatization of the nation over the last three decades. As our national assets are being sold, the new buyers reap the rewards, and the ordinary consumer is left to pay the ever rising bill. Urgent, powerfully written and deeply moving, "Private Island" is a passionate anatomy of the state of the nation for readers of "Chavs" and "Whoops ."

General

Imprint: Verso Books
Country of origin: United Kingdom
Release date: August 2014
First published: October 2014
Authors: James Meek
Dimensions: 235 x 156 x 19mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback
Pages: 229
ISBN-13: 978-1-78168-290-6
Categories: Books > Social sciences > Politics & government > General
Books > Reference & Interdisciplinary > Interdisciplinary studies > Area / regional studies > General
LSN: 1-78168-290-9
Barcode: 9781781682906

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Partners