Alice and the Fly - 'a darkly quirky story of love, obsession and fear' Anna James (Paperback)


'Powerful' Closer 'A darkly quirky story of love, obsession and fear . . . a beautiful story hung around the enchanting and heartbreaking voice of teenager Greg' Anna James Miss Hayes has a new theory. She thinks my condition's caused by some traumatic incident from my past I keep deep-rooted in my mind. As soon as I come clean I'll flood out all these tears and it'll all be ok and I won't be scared of Them anymore. The truth is I can't think of any single traumatic childhood incident to tell her. I mean, there are plenty of bad memories - Herb's death, or the time I bit the hole in my tongue, or Finners Island, out on the boat with Sarah - but none of these are what caused the phobia. I've always had it. It's Them. I'm just scared of Them. It's that simple. For fans of Sarah Winman, Junot Diaz and Maria Semple, Alice and the Fly is an unforgettable book about phobias and obsessions, isolation and dark corners, families, friendships, and carefully preserved secrets. But above everything else it's about love. Finding love - in any of its forms - and nurturing it.

R212
Discovery Miles2120
Delivery AdviceShips in 12 - 17 working days


Toggle WishListAdd to wish list
Read Reviews | Review this Item

Product Description

'Powerful' Closer 'A darkly quirky story of love, obsession and fear . . . a beautiful story hung around the enchanting and heartbreaking voice of teenager Greg' Anna James Miss Hayes has a new theory. She thinks my condition's caused by some traumatic incident from my past I keep deep-rooted in my mind. As soon as I come clean I'll flood out all these tears and it'll all be ok and I won't be scared of Them anymore. The truth is I can't think of any single traumatic childhood incident to tell her. I mean, there are plenty of bad memories - Herb's death, or the time I bit the hole in my tongue, or Finners Island, out on the boat with Sarah - but none of these are what caused the phobia. I've always had it. It's Them. I'm just scared of Them. It's that simple. For fans of Sarah Winman, Junot Diaz and Maria Semple, Alice and the Fly is an unforgettable book about phobias and obsessions, isolation and dark corners, families, friendships, and carefully preserved secrets. But above everything else it's about love. Finding love - in any of its forms - and nurturing it.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating  (2 Customers)

Reviews

A steadfast, but unreliable narrator leads the reader through this heart-wrenching story. Peppered with love, hope, secrets and lies this book latched onto me and drew me towards the ultimate conclusion where I was left dazed. A brilliant portrayal of the dissolution of family life. http://crushingcinders.com/

Product Details

General

Imprint

Hodder Paperback

Country of origin

United Kingdom

Release date

August 2015

Availability

Expected to ship within 12 - 17 working days

First published

2015

Authors

Dimensions

196 x 129 x 22mm (L x W x T)

Format

Paperback - B-format

Pages

323

ISBN-13

978-1-4447-9009-2

Barcode

9781444790092

Categories

LSN

1-4447-9009-9



Trending In Books