0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > History > World history > From 1900 > Second World War

Buy Now

Shadow Divers - The True Adventure Of Two Americans Who Risked Everything To Solve One Of The Last Mysteries Of World War II (Paperback, Random House Trade Paperback ed) Loot Price: R332
Discovery Miles 3 320
You Save: R66 (17%)
  • This item is a special order that could take a long time to obtain.

Shadow Divers - The True Adventure Of Two Americans Who Risked Everything To Solve One Of The Last Mysteries Of World War II (Paperback, Random House Trade Paperback ed)

Robert Kurson

 (sign in to rate)
List price R398 Loot Price R332 Discovery Miles 3 320 You Save R66 (17%)

Bookmark and Share

Supplier out of stock. If you add this item to your wish list we will let you know when it becomes available.

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery-and make history themselves.
For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships.
But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones-all buried under decades of accumulated sediment.
No identifying marks were visible on the submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert, or government had a clue as to which U-boat the men had found. In fact, the official records all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken U-boat and crew at that location.
Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler, at first bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almost mystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned U-boat sailors-former enemies of their country. As the men's marriages frayed under the pressure of a shared obsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting more than the identities of a lost U-boat and its nameless crew.
Author Robert Kurson's account of this quest is at once thrilling and emotionally complex, and it is written with a vivid sense of what divers actually experience when they meet the dangers of the ocean's underworld. The story of Shadow Divers often seems too amazing to be true, but it all happened, two hundred thirty feet down, in the deep blue sea.

"From the Hardcover edition."

General

Imprint: Random House Inc
Country of origin: United States
Release date: May 2005
First published: May 2005
Authors: Robert Kurson
Dimensions: 205 x 132 x 24mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback
Pages: 390
Edition: Random House Trade Paperback ed
ISBN-13: 978-0-375-76098-3
Categories: Books > Humanities > History > History of specific subjects > Military history
Books > Social sciences > Warfare & defence > War & defence operations > Battles & campaigns
Books > Humanities > History > World history > From 1900 > Second World War
Books > History > History of specific subjects > Military history
Books > History > World history > From 1900 > Second World War
LSN: 0-375-76098-9
Barcode: 9780375760983

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Partners