Far From The Tree (Paperback)


WINNER OF THE U.S. NATIONAL BOOK AWARD 2017 FOR YOUNG PEOPLE'S LITERATURE!

'Sometimes, family hurts each other. But after that’s done you bandage each other up, and you move on. Together. So you can go and think that you’re some lone wolf, but you’re not. You’ve got us now, like it or not, and we’ve got you.'

When 16 year-old Grace gives up her baby for adoption, she decides that the time has come to find out more about her own biological mother. Although her biological mum proves elusive, her search leads her to two half-siblings she never knew existed. Maya, 15, has been adopted by wealthy parents and seems to have the picture-perfect family – that is, if you look past her alcoholic mother and the fact that Maya stands out like a sore thumb. Older brother Joaquin hasn’t been so lucky. At 18, he’s shuffled between foster home after foster home, always careful never to get attached to anyone or anything, because it always gets taken away. When these three siblings come together, they find in themselves the place they can belong, while the secrets they guard threaten to explode...

For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Nicola Yoon, Far From the Tree is a raw, compelling, and ultimately uplifting story of what it means to be family.


R162
List Price R205
Save R43 21%
Discovery Miles1620
Delivery AdviceShips in 5 - 7 working days

1 more Sellers from R164

Toggle WishListAdd to wish list
Review this Item

Product Description

WINNER OF THE U.S. NATIONAL BOOK AWARD 2017 FOR YOUNG PEOPLE'S LITERATURE!

'Sometimes, family hurts each other. But after that’s done you bandage each other up, and you move on. Together. So you can go and think that you’re some lone wolf, but you’re not. You’ve got us now, like it or not, and we’ve got you.'

When 16 year-old Grace gives up her baby for adoption, she decides that the time has come to find out more about her own biological mother. Although her biological mum proves elusive, her search leads her to two half-siblings she never knew existed. Maya, 15, has been adopted by wealthy parents and seems to have the picture-perfect family – that is, if you look past her alcoholic mother and the fact that Maya stands out like a sore thumb. Older brother Joaquin hasn’t been so lucky. At 18, he’s shuffled between foster home after foster home, always careful never to get attached to anyone or anything, because it always gets taken away. When these three siblings come together, they find in themselves the place they can belong, while the secrets they guard threaten to explode...

For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Nicola Yoon, Far From the Tree is a raw, compelling, and ultimately uplifting story of what it means to be family.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating  (1 Customer)

Product Details

General

Imprint

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books

Country of origin

United Kingdom

Release date

December 2017

Availability

Expected to ship within 5 - 7 working days

Authors

Dimensions

198 x 130 x 23mm (L x W x T)

Format

Paperback

Pages

368

ISBN-13

978-1-4711-6433-0

Barcode

9781471164330

Categories

LSN

1-4711-6433-0



Trending In Books