0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Fiction > Genre fiction > Crime & mystery

Buy Now

Purgatory Chasm - A Mystery (Paperback) Loot Price: R322
Discovery Miles 3 220
You Save: R80 (20%)
Purgatory Chasm - A Mystery (Paperback): Steve Ulfelder

Purgatory Chasm - A Mystery (Paperback)

Steve Ulfelder

Series: Conway Sax Mystery, NO. 1

 (sign in to rate)
List price R402 Loot Price R322 Discovery Miles 3 220 You Save R80 (20%)

Bookmark and Share

Expected to ship within 7 - 11 working days

*Nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel

*Winner of the Reviewer's Choice Award from "RT BookReviews" for Best First Mystery of 2011

"Tander Phigg was a real jerk, but he was also a Barnburner. Barnburners saved my life. I help them when I can. No exceptions."

"A refreshing new character solving hardcore crimes.... crisp plotting, hard-boiled style and realistic dialogue." "--Associated Press "

"Combines elements of the thriller with tales of tangled families. Violence runs through the novel, but Ulfelder tempers it with compassion -- and evocative prose. "Purgatory Chasm" may be hardboiled, but it's heart-wrenching, too." -"Richmond Times-Dispatch"

"Working throughout is the edgy, self-effacing voice of a flawed main character, a good guy with plenty of baggage who's just trying stay alive and to get it right this time." -"The Boston Globe"

The job seems simple. Conway Sax, a no-nonsense auto mechanic with a knack for solving difficult problems, has never liked Tander Phigg. But Tander's a Barnburner, a member of the unique AA group that rescued Conway, and when a Barnburner has a problem, Conway takes care of it. Besides, all Tander wants is to get back his vintage Mercedes from a shady auto shop. But Conway soon discovers there's much more to the problem-especially when Tander turns up dead. Conway was the last person seen with the victim, and on top of that, he has a record. He must catch the killer to clear himself, but he's also a man who honors his promises, even when the guy he made them to is dead. In the tradition of Robert B. Parker and Dennis Lehane, Steve Ulfelder's crackling debut mystery features a gritty, razor-sharp new voice in crime fiction that will stay with you long after the last page.

General

Imprint: St. Martins Press-3pl
Country of origin: United States
Series: Conway Sax Mystery, NO. 1
Release date: April 2012
First published: April 2012
Authors: Steve Ulfelder
Dimensions: 213 x 137 x 25mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback - Trade
Pages: 304
ISBN-13: 978-1-250-00702-5
Categories: Books > Fiction > Genre fiction > Crime & mystery
Books > Fiction > Genre fiction > Crime & mystery > General
LSN: 1-250-00702-X
Barcode: 9781250007025

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Partners