Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Arts & Architecture > Music > Composers & musicians

Buy Now

Falling Up - The Days and Nights of Carlisle Floyd, The Authorized Biography (Hardcover, New) Loot Price: R1,060
Discovery Miles 10 600
You Save: R57 (5%)
Falling Up - The Days and Nights of Carlisle Floyd, The Authorized Biography (Hardcover, New): Thomas Holliday

Falling Up - The Days and Nights of Carlisle Floyd, The Authorized Biography (Hardcover, New)

Thomas Holliday; Foreword by Placido Domingo

 (sign in to rate)
List price R1,117 Loot Price R1,060 Discovery Miles 10 600 | Repayment Terms: R97 pm x 12* You Save R57 (5%)

Bookmark and Share

Expected to ship within 12 - 17 working days

Actors know about "falling up" a split-second ignition from the wings, propelling entrance as a new character, an unwilled ascent to a different mode of being, an in-body experience that overlays preparation, opportunity, choice, or chance. Falling Up, the first and only full-length Floyd study, is a metaphor for humanity's uncanny ability to rise from seeming disaster into rebirth. Floyd's consistent succession of soars, stumbles, slides, or wrenches sings of triumph over odds. A modern Renaissance man, Floyd is our greatest living opera composer and librettist, a trained concert pianist, a master stage director, and a teacher. In Falling Up, Holliday offers an intimate account of the life that shaped the words and music. Combining insights from hundreds of interviews with Floyd, his family, and many of the last half-century's greatest singers, conductors, and opera administrators, Falling Up traces Floyd's Southern roots and the struggles and sacrifices that accompanied his rise to operatic stardom. With more than forty photographs, the detailed evolution of Floyd's fourteen operas, and in-depth analysis of his nonoperatic works, Falling Up is essential reading for opera fans and professionals alike, a book that moves, informs, and entertains.


Imprint: Syracuse University Press
Country of origin: United States
Release date: 2013
First published: December 2012
Authors: Thomas Holliday
Foreword by: Placido Domingo
Dimensions: 279 x 216 x 35mm (L x W x T)
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 440
Edition: New
ISBN-13: 978-0-8156-1003-8
Categories: Books > Arts & Architecture > Music > Composers & musicians
Books > Language & Literature > Biography & autobiography > Film, television, music, theatre
Books > Arts & Architecture > Performing arts > Theatre, drama > Opera
Books > Biography > Film, television, music, theatre
Books > Music > Composers & musicians
LSN: 0-8156-1003-3
Barcode: 9780815610038

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!