0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Browse All departments
  • All departments
Price
  • R100 - R250 (1)
  • R250 - R500 (1)
  • R500 - R1,000 (1)
  • -
Status
Brand

Showing 1 - 3 of 3 matches in All departments

The Affairs of Others (Paperback): Amy Grace Loyd The Affairs of Others (Paperback)
Amy Grace Loyd 1
Sold By Readers Warehouse - Fulfilled by Loot
R109 Discovery Miles 1 090 Shipped within 7 - 10 working days

For fans of Siri Hustvedt and Nicole Krauss, THE AFFAIRS OF OTHERS is an exceptional debut about the awakening of a young widow and 'carries a considerable erotic charge, but there's much more to it besides: grief is Amy Grace Loyd's subject and her narrative is as psychologically acute as it is sensual' (DAILY MAIL). In the five years since her young husband's death, Celia Cassill has retreated from view. She has moved from one New York neighbourhood to another, but she has not moved on. Now the owner of a small apartment building, she has chosen tenants who will not intrude upon her grief. Everything changes when a new tenant moves in upstairs. Intoxicating and dangerous, Hope is on the run from a failed marriage and in thrall to a seductive, sinister man. As her noisy affair destroys the building's quiet, and another tenant disappears, Celia is forced back into contact with life through violence, sex and the secrets barely concealed within the brownstone's walls. 'An assured and moving debut novel. It has the kind of real tenderness and simplicity that takes great skill to achieve' A. L. Kennedy 'A moody, sensual debut... both important and true' NEW YORKER 'The first novel from the ex-literary editor of Playboy carries a considerable erotic charge, but there's much more to it besides: grief is Amy Grace Loyd's subject and her narrative is as psychologically acute as it is sensual. What's more she as good on the texture of spring in the city as she is on the faces and flesh. A classy debut by a sure-footed storyteller' DAILY MAIL 'From start to finish, Loyd's prose flows exquisitely through the story, as she limns the depths of the protagonist's mind, the complexity of human intimacy, and the idiosyncrasies of each new character with the grace of a seasoned novelist' VANITY FAIR 'Mesmerizing' ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY 'A wonderful novel, beautifully written and sensuous, rich with emotion and. Amy Grace Loyd's prose hums with desire as she creates a Brooklyn walk-up that comes alive with the yearning of its tenants, and moves them toward an unforgettable ending - suspenseful, erotic and ultimately hopeful' Jess Walter, author of BEAUTIFUL RUINS

The Affairs of Others (Paperback): Amy Grace Loyd The Affairs of Others (Paperback)
Amy Grace Loyd
R288 R269 Discovery Miles 2 690 Save R19 (7%) Out of stock

Five years after her young husband's death, Celia Cassill has moved from one Brooklyn neighborhood to another, but she has not moved on. The owner of a small apartment building, Celia believes that she has a right to her ghosts, and she has chosen her tenants for their ability to respect one another's privacy. But everything changes with the arrival of Hope, a dazzling woman of a certain age on the run from her husband's recent betrayal. When Hope begins a torrid and noisy affair, and another tenant mysteriously disappears, the carefully constructed walls of Celia's world are tested and the sanctity of her building is shattered. Ultimately, Celia and her tenants must abandon their separate spaces for a more intimate one, and the promise of genuine joy.
Amy Grace Loyd investigates interior spaces, of the body and the New York warrens in which her characters live, offering a startling emotional honesty about the traffic between men and women. "The Affairs of Others" is a story about the irrepressibility of life and desire, no matter its sorrows or obstacles.

The Affairs of Others (Standard format, CD): Amy Grace Loyd The Affairs of Others (Standard format, CD)
Amy Grace Loyd; Read by Kathe Mazur
R836 R589 Discovery Miles 5 890 Save R247 (30%) Out of stock

A MESMERIZING DEBUT NOVEL ABOUT A YOUNG WOMAN, HAUNTED BY LOSS, WHO REDISCOVERS PASSION AND POSSIBILITY WHEN SHE'S DRAWN INTO THE TANGLED LIVES OF HER NEIGHBORS
Five years after her young husband's death, Celia Cassill has moved from one Brooklyn neighborhood to another, but she has not moved on. The owner of a small apartment building, she has chosen her tenants for their ability to respect one another's privacy. Celia believes in boundaries, solitude, that she has a right to her ghosts. She is determined to live a life at a remove from the chaos and competition of modern life. Everything changes with the arrival of a new tenant, Hope, a dazzling woman of a certain age on the run from her husband's recent betrayal. When Hope begins a torrid and noisy affair, and another tenant mysteriously disappears, the carefully constructed walls of Celia's world are tested and the sanctity of her building is shattered--through violence and sex, in turns tender and dark. Ultimately, Celia and her tenants are forced to abandon their separate spaces for a far more intimate one, leading to a surprising conclusion and the promise of genuine joy.
Amy Grace Loyd investigates interior spaces of the body and the New York warrens in which her characters live, offering a startling emotional honesty about the traffic between men and women. "The Affairs of Others" is a story about the irrepressibility of life and desire, no matter the sorrows or obstacles.

Free Delivery
Pinterest Twitter Facebook Google+
You may like...
Cars 3
DVD  (2)
R159 R78 Discovery Miles 780
Loot
Nadine Gordimer Paperback  (2)
R297 R238 Discovery Miles 2 380
Sylvanian Families - City House with…
 (31)
R1,639 R1,099 Discovery Miles 10 990
RivaCase Central Briefcase for 15.6…
R499 R199 Discovery Miles 1 990
Darkest Hour
Gary Oldman Blu-ray disc R199 R91 Discovery Miles 910
Ma
Octavia Spencer, Juliette Lewis, … DVD R160 R143 Discovery Miles 1 430
AlvaAir Plastic Table Fan (30cm)
R349 R259 Discovery Miles 2 590
Sylvanian Families - Walnut Squirrel…
R564 R381 Discovery Miles 3 810
Reebok Yoga Mat - Hello Hi
R399 R329 Discovery Miles 3 290
The Girl In The Spider's Web
Claire Foy, Lakeith Stanfield, … Blu-ray disc R199 R156 Discovery Miles 1 560

 

Partners