0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Browse All departments
  • All departments
Price
  • R100 - R250 (1)
  • R250 - R500 (5)
  • R500 - R1,000 (2)
  • R1,000 - R2,500 (1)
  • -
Status
Brand

Showing 1 - 9 of 9 matches in All departments

The One-in-a-Million Boy - The touching novel of a 104-year-old woman's friendship with a boy you'll never forget...... The One-in-a-Million Boy - The touching novel of a 104-year-old woman's friendship with a boy you'll never forget... (Paperback)
Monica Wood 1
R287 R251 Discovery Miles 2 510 Save R36 (13%) Ships in 10 - 15 working days

She may be 104 years old, but Ona Vitkus is on a mission and it's all because of THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION-BOY... Monica Wood's unforgettable novel about a boy in a million and the 104-year-old woman who saves his family is not to be missed by readers who loved THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, ELIZABETH IS MISSING or THE SHOCK OF THE FALL. 'A lovely, quirky novel about misfits across generations' Daily Mail 'A bittersweet story about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places' Good Housekeeping. The story of your life never starts at the beginning. Don't they teach you anything at school? So says 104-year-old Ona to the 11-year-old boy who's been sent to help her out every Saturday morning. As he refills the bird feeders and tidies the garden shed, Ona tells him about her long life, from first love to second chances. Soon she's confessing secrets she has kept hidden for decades. One Saturday, he doesn't show up. Ona starts to think he's not so special after all, but then his father Quinn arrives on her doorstep, determined to finish his son's good deed. The boy's mother is not so far behind. Ona is set to discover that even at her age the world can surprise you, and that sometimes sharing a loss is the only way to find yourself again. What readers are saying about ONE IN A MILLION BOY: 'Delightful, quirky and heart-warming' 'A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion' 'With heart-breaking and emotional moments intertwined with humour and love, THE ONE IN A MILLION BOY proves it's never too late to make new friends'

The One-In-A-Million Boy (Paperback): Monica Wood The One-In-A-Million Boy (Paperback)
Monica Wood
R377 R307 Discovery Miles 3 070 Save R70 (19%) Ships in 7 - 11 working days
When We Were the Kennedys - A Memoir from Mexico, Maine (Paperback): Monica Wood When We Were the Kennedys - A Memoir from Mexico, Maine (Paperback)
Monica Wood
R347 R281 Discovery Miles 2 810 Save R66 (19%) Ships in 7 - 11 working days

Winner of the 2012 Sarton Memoir Award
"Every few years, a memoir comes along that revitalizes the form...With generous, precise, and unsentimental prose, Monica Wood brilliantly achieves this . . . "When We Were the Kennedys" is a deeply moving gem "--Andre Dubus III, author of "House of Sand and Fog" and "Townie"
Mexico, Maine, 1963: The Wood family is much like its close, Catholic, immigrant neighbors, all dependent on the fathers' wages from the Oxford Paper Company. But when Dad suddenly dies on his way to work, Mum and the four deeply connected Wood girls are set adrift. "When We Were the Kennedys" is the story of how a family, a town, and then a nation mourns and finds the strength to move on.
"On her own terms, wry and empathetic, Wood locates the melodies in the aftershock of sudden loss."--"Boston Globe"
" A] marvel of storytelling, layered and rich. It is, by turns, a chronicle of the renowned paper mill that was both pride and poison to several generations of a town; a tribute to the ethnic stew of immigrant families that grew and prospered there; and an account of one family's grief, love, and resilience."--"Maine Sunday Telegram "

When We Were the Kennedys - A Memoir from Mexico, Maine (MP3 format, CD): Monica Wood When We Were the Kennedys - A Memoir from Mexico, Maine (MP3 format, CD)
Monica Wood; Read by Monica Wood
R228 R212 Discovery Miles 2 120 Save R16 (7%) Out of stock
The One-In-A-Million Boy (MP3 format, CD): Monica Wood The One-In-A-Million Boy (MP3 format, CD)
Monica Wood; Narrated by Chris Ciulla
R665 R516 Discovery Miles 5 160 Save R149 (22%) Out of stock
The One-In-A-Million Boy (Standard format, CD): Monica Wood The One-In-A-Million Boy (Standard format, CD)
Monica Wood
R1,334 R1,002 Discovery Miles 10 020 Save R332 (25%) Out of stock
The Story I Want to Tell - Explorations in the Art of Writing (Paperback): The Telling Room The Story I Want to Tell - Explorations in the Art of Writing (Paperback)
The Telling Room; Contributions by Elizabeth Gilbert, Richard Blanco, Jonathan Lethem, Bill Roorbach, …
R398 R372 Discovery Miles 3 720 Save R26 (7%) Out of stock
One-In-A-Million Boy (Hardcover, Library ed.): Monica Wood One-In-A-Million Boy (Hardcover, Library ed.)
Monica Wood
R647 R583 Discovery Miles 5 830 Save R64 (10%) Out of stock
My Only Story (Paperback, 1st Ballantine Books ed): Monica Wood My Only Story (Paperback, 1st Ballantine Books ed)
Monica Wood
R441 R379 Discovery Miles 3 790 Save R62 (14%) Out of stock

He came to me first in a dream, as a crippled dog angling down a country lane, puzzled by his sudden age, his bum paw, the dry stick clamped between his teeth. I’d been expecting this dream for a very long time, and I woke up moving. . . .

Rita Rosario has a gift, a way with people. She listens to them and really sees them for who they are–warts and all. And sometimes, she even knows how to guide them toward a new beginning. Women, even men, come to Rita’s beauty shop for perms, town gossip, and the makeovers of their very lives.

John Reed first appears to Rita in one of her dreams. When they meet at a town gathering a few days later, she immediately offers him a haircut, and her heart. As they share their stories, Rita senses she can help John fill a void by reconnecting him to his only family–a young niece he nearly lost in a heartbreaking tragedy. While inspiring John on a journey out of loneliness and into reconciliation, Rita begins to come to terms with events in her past . . . and discovers things about herself she never realized, including her own intimate role in John’s unfolding story.

Free Delivery
Pinterest Twitter Facebook Google+
You may like...
Casio LW-200-7AV Watch with 10-Year…
R899 R765 Discovery Miles 7 650
Simply Child Hot Air Balloon Mobile…
R390 Discovery Miles 3 900
Loot
Nadine Gordimer Paperback  (2)
R359 R287 Discovery Miles 2 870
G-Technology G-Drive External Hard Drive…
R1,710 Discovery Miles 17 100
Loot
Nadine Gordimer Paperback  (2)
R359 R287 Discovery Miles 2 870
Dolce Vita Kansas Biker Boot (Black)
R499 R299 Discovery Miles 2 990
Child's Play - (2019)
Aubrey Plaza, Gabriel Bateman, … DVD R160 R55 Discovery Miles 550
Taurus Geyser 3000 Eco Anti-Calc…
R92 Discovery Miles 920
Kingsons Valentine Series Shoulder Bag…
 (7)
R375 R279 Discovery Miles 2 790
Paper Mate Inkjoy 100 Capped Ballpoint…
 (1)
R5 Discovery Miles 50

 

Partners