0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Browse All departments
  • All departments
Price
  • R100 - R250 (4)
  • R250 - R500 (1)
  • -
Status
Brand

Showing 1 - 5 of 5 matches in All departments

The Howling Hag Mystery (Paperback): Nicki Thornton The Howling Hag Mystery (Paperback)
Nicki Thornton
R154 Discovery Miles 1 540 Ships in 12 - 17 working days

From the author of The Last Chance Hotel comes a brand new fantastical mystery series! 'Blending magical adventure with Golden Age crime mystery, this delightfully atmospheric spin-off from the author of The Last Chance Hotel confirms Thornton's place as one of the most original children's writers around.' WATERSTONES Magic must never be misused ... When there's a murder in the village and a hag is heard howling at the local inn, secret witch Raven Charming realizes she could have a rival - one who practises the worst kind of magic. With the help of amateur sleuth, Mortimer Scratch, and Nightshade, a talking cat with a feline sense of detection, she sets out to solve what's been going on ... A magical murder mystery perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Harry Potter Book 1 in a new spin-off series from the author of The Last Chance Hotel, chosen as Waterstones Book of the Month and nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Award Features fan-favourite Nightshade as the star of her very own mystery! Praise for THE LAST CHANCE HOTEL: 'A jolly, atmospheric mystery.' THE TIMES 'All kinds of fun' THE OBSERVER '[A] mash-up of murder mystery and fantasy ... full of great characters, plot twists and intriguing detail.' METRO 'Featuring magical antics, a talking cat and a locked-room murder mystery, Seth's story reads like an old-school whodunnit with added wizards and spells' BOOKTRUST

The Cut-Throat Cafe (Paperback): Nicki Thornton The Cut-Throat Cafe (Paperback)
Nicki Thornton 1
R154 Discovery Miles 1 540 Ships in 12 - 17 working days

The third magical murder mystery in the bestselling Seth Seppi series, which started with The Last Chance Hotel - Harry Potter meets Robin Stevens! Seth and his talking cat Nightshade arrive in the magical town of Gramichee to gain an apprenticeship: he's finally read to qualify as a magician. But he soon discovers that the existing apprentices are under attack at the town's Scrumdiddlyumptious Caf , which is far more deadly than it is delightful. Seth's got his hands full, as usual. Can he pass his exams, discover who's murdering the apprentices, and stop them before they strike again? PRAISE FOR THE LAST CHANCE HOTEL: 'This mystery is a worthy prizewinner ... a jolly, atmospheric mystery.'THE TIMES 'Thornton, like [Agatha] Christie, can turn murder into a thoroughly comforting bedtime read.' THE TELEGRAPH '... all kinds of fun: a locked-room murder mystery paced breathlessly, but fruited with humour, poignancy and great character names' THE OBSERVER '[A] mash-up of murder mystery and fantasy that celebrates food and cooking, and is full of great characters, plot twists and intriguing detail.' METRO 'Featuring magical antics, a talking cat and a locked-room murder mystery, Seth's story reads like an old-school whodunnit with added wizards and spells and echoes of ancient sorcery.' BOOKTRUST

The Last Chance Hotel (Paperback): Nicki Thornton The Last Chance Hotel (Paperback)
Nicki Thornton 1
R231 R173 Discovery Miles 1 730 Save R58 (25%) Ships in 12 - 17 working days

Seth is the oppressed kitchen boy at the remote Last Chance Hotel, owned by the nasty Bunn family. His only friend is his black cat, Nightshade. But when a strange gathering of magicians arrives for dinner, kindly Dr Thallomius is poisoned by Seth's special dessert. A locked-room murder investigation ensues - and Seth is the main suspect. The funny thing is, he's innocent . can he solve the mystery and clear his name, especially when magic's afoot?

The Bad Luck Lighthouse (Paperback): Nicki Thornton The Bad Luck Lighthouse (Paperback)
Nicki Thornton 1
R214 R154 Discovery Miles 1 540 Save R60 (28%) Ships in 12 - 17 working days

The twisty-turny sequel to the bestselling Last Chance Hotel - perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Robin Stevens! 'This mystery is a worthy prizewinner ... a jolly, atmospheric mystery.' THE TIMES on book 1 'Thornton, like [Agatha] Christie, can turn murder into a thoroughly comforting bedtime read.' THE TELEGRAPH on book 1 'All kinds of fun' THE OBSERVER on book 1 'Featuring magical antics, a talking cat and a locked-room murder mystery, Seth's story reads like an old-school whodunnit with added wizards and spells and echoes of ancient sorcery.' BOOKTRUST on book 1 In solving the mystery of the Last Chance Hotel, Seth has discovered a bewildering new world of magic. Swept up in the new MagiCon case investigating ghostly goings-on at the remote Snakesmouth Lighthouse, he is determined to prove himself. But when eccentric owner Mina Mintencress is murdered, Seth realizes danger lurks around every corner. With the help of his cat, Nightshade, Seth must put his new-found magic to the test. Can they unmask a sinister sorcerer ... before it's too late? The thrilling sequel to The Last Chance Hotel, a magical murder mystery for young readers Readers will love guessing whodunnit with the novel's fantastic ensemble cast, grounded by the brilliantly relatable Seth and his magical cat, Nightshade The Seth Seppi Mysteries continue in book 3, The Cut-Throat Cafe Nightshade the cat becomes the star of her very own adventure in the first book Nicki Thornton's new series, The Howling Hag Mystery!

The Last Chance Hotel (Hardcover): Nicki Thornton The Last Chance Hotel (Hardcover)
Nicki Thornton
R408 R353 Discovery Miles 3 530 Save R55 (13%) Out of stock
Free Delivery
Pinterest Twitter Facebook Google+
You may like...
Bennett Read Hydro De-Foamer
R98 Discovery Miles 980
Aerolatte Cappuccino Art Stencils (Set…
R110 R95 Discovery Miles 950
Loot
Nadine Gordimer Paperback  (2)
R333 R285 Discovery Miles 2 850
Kingsons Valentine Series Shoulder Bag…
 (2)
R499 R455 Discovery Miles 4 550
Loot
Nadine Gordimer Paperback  (2)
R333 R285 Discovery Miles 2 850
Alcosan Alcohol Hand Sanitiser (100ml)
 (7)
R65 R50 Discovery Miles 500
It's The Answers For Me
Khaya Dlanga Paperback R290 R199 Discovery Miles 1 990
Chicco Anti-Mosquito Natural Perfumed…
R40 Discovery Miles 400
King Kong Leather Ladies Laptop Bag…
R3,349 R1,999 Discovery Miles 19 990
Good Time
Robert Pattinson, Jennifer Jason Leigh, … DVD  (1)
R172 Discovery Miles 1 720

 

Partners