0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction

Buy Now

Black Deutschland (Paperback) Loot Price: R212
Discovery Miles 2 120
You Save: R63 (23%)
Black Deutschland (Paperback): Darryl Pinckney
Black Deutschland (Paperback): Darryl Pinckney

Share your images

Black Deutschland (Paperback)

Darryl Pinckney

 (sign in to rate)
List price R275 Loot Price R212 Discovery Miles 2 120 You Save R63 (23%)

Bookmark and Share

Usually dispatched within 8 - 13 working days.

Newly sober and nostalgic for the Weimar days of Isherwood and Auden, Jed arrives to chase boys and to escape from what it means to be a black male in America. But history, both personal and political, can't be avoided with time or distance. Whether it's the judgment of the cousin he grew up with and her husband's bourgeois German family, the lure of white wine in a down-and-out bar, a gang of racists looking for a brawl, or the ravaged visage of Rock Hudson flashing behind the face of every white boy Jed desperately longs for, the past never stays past, even in faraway Berlin. An intoxicating, provocative novel of appetite, identity, and self-construction, Darryl Pinckney's Black Deutschland tells the story of an outsider searching for an obscure home in Europe's brightest and darkest city. Named one of the most anticipated books of the year by The Millions, Flavorwire, The Boston Globe, and The Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel; For readers of Teju Cole. From the author of High Cotton comes the story of a young African American man in divided Berlin: "The novel is full of wondrous things" (James Wood, The New Yorker).

General

Imprint: Picador USA
Country of origin: United States
Release date: February 2017
Authors: Darryl Pinckney
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 21mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback
Pages: 304
ISBN-13: 978-1-250-11797-7
Barcode: 9781250117977
Categories: Promotions
Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction
LSN: 1-250-11797-6

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Loyalty partners