Your cart

Your cart is empty


Buy Now

The Collected Poems of Dylan Thomas - The Original Edition (Paperback, Original) Loot Price: R228
Discovery Miles 2 280
You Save: R71 (24%)

Share your images

The Collected Poems of Dylan Thomas - The Original Edition (Paperback, Original)

Dylan Thomas; Introduction by Paul Muldoon

 (sign in to rate)
List price R299 Loot Price R228 Discovery Miles 2 280 You Save R71 (24%)

Bookmark and Share

Usually dispatched within 7 - 11 working days.

The Collected Poems of Dylan Thomas contains poems that Thomas personally decided best represented his work. A year before its publication Thomas died from swelling of the brain triggered by excessive drinking. (A piece of New Directions history: it was our founder James Laughlin who identified Thomas' body at the morgue of St. Vincent's Hospital.) Since its initial publication in 1953, this book has become the definitive edition of the poet's work. Thomas wrote "Prologue" addressed to "my readers, the strangers" -- an introduction in verse that was the last poem he would ever write. Also included are classics such as "And Death Shall Have No Dominion," "Do Not Go Gentle into that Good Night," and "Fern Hill" that have influenced generations of artists from Bob Dylan (who changed his last name from Zimmerman in honor of the poet), to John Lennon (The Beatles included Thomas' portrait on the cover of Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band); this collection even appears in the film adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's The Road when it is retrieved from the rubble of a bookshelf. And death shall have no dominion. Dead men naked they shall be one With the man in the wind and the west moon; When their bones are picked clean and their clean bones gone, They shall have stars at elbow and foot; Though they go mad they shall be sane, Though they sink through the sea they shall rise again, Though lovers be lost love shall not: And death shall have no dominion. (From "And Death Shall Have No Dominion")


Imprint: New Directions Publishing Corporation
Country of origin: United States
Release date: April 2010
First published: April 2010
Authors: Dylan Thomas
Introduction by: Paul Muldoon
Dimensions: 202 x 131 x 16mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback
Pages: 210
Edition: Original
ISBN-13: 978-0-8112-1881-8
Barcode: 9780811218818
Categories: Promotions
LSN: 0-8112-1881-3

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Loyalty partners