Your cart

Your cart is empty

Music > Jazz

Not currently available

Herbie Nichols Trio - Complete Studio Master Takes (Remaster) (Import) (CD) Loot Price: R257
Discovery Miles 2 570
Herbie Nichols Trio - Complete Studio Master Takes (Remaster) (Import) (CD): Herbie Nichols Trio
Herbie Nichols Trio - Complete Studio Master Takes (Remaster) (Import) (CD): Herbie Nichols Trio

Share your images

Herbie Nichols Trio - Complete Studio Master Takes (Remaster) (Import) (CD)

Herbie Nichols Trio

 (sign in to rate)
Loot Price R257 Discovery Miles 2 570

Bookmark and Share

Supplier out of stock. If you add it to your wishlist we will send you an email should it become available again.

In what appears to be the first Herbie Nichols compilation of its kind, Lone Hill Jazz presents each and every master take recorded by the Herbie Nichols Trio for both the Blue Note and Bethlehem labels between May 1955 and November 1957. Here Nichols acted in collaboration with bassists Al McKibbon, Teddy Kotick, and George Duvivier, and drummers Art Blakey, Max Roach, and Dannie Richmond; such percussive support was important because one very special aspect of Nichols' music is the manner in which the drummer often carries portions of the melodic line. All previous issues and reissues have maintained a separation along the lines of the original record labels, with most attention being focused upon the amazing Blue Note sessions while the Bethlehem material hovered around like a lesser-known sequel. With all the pieces of the puzzle assembled into one entity, a bigger picture emerges of this brilliant African-American composer and pianist struggling to get his music recorded during the Eisenhower Era, when the entertainment industry was mainly concerned with Elvis Presley, Pat Boone, and Patti Page. Herbie Nichols' original compositions are unique poetic manifestations comparable in many ways to the inventions of Thelonious Sphere Monk. The great surprise here is the appearance of three rare quartet tracks -- including a fine and noble piece of blues -- recorded in March 1952 with guitarist Danny Barker, bassist Chocolate Williams, and drummer Shadow Wilson. These bonus tracks form a stunning coda for this unprecedented portrait of the one, the only Herbie Nichols. ~ arwulf arwulf


Label: Lone Hill Jazz (Spain)
Country of origin: Spain
Release date: May 2005
Performers: Herbie Nichols Trio
Format: CD
Categories: Music > Jazz

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Disk 1

1 Third World - (studio)
2 Step Tempest - (studio)
3 Dance Line - (studio)
4 Blue Chopsticks - (studio)
5 Double Exposure - (studio)
6 Cro-Magnon Nights - (studio)
7 Amoeba's Dance - (studio)
8 Brass Rings - (studio)
9 2300 Skiddoo - (studio)
10 It Dind't Happen - (studio)
11 Crisp Day - (studio)
12 Shufffle Montgomery - (studio)
13 Gig - (studio)
14 Hangover Tringle - (studio)
15 Lady Sings The Blues - (studio)
16 Chit Chatting - (studio)
17 House Party Starting - (studio)
18 Terpsichore - (studio)
19 Wildflower - (studio)
20 Mine - (studio)
21 Spinning Song - (studio)
22 Query - (studio)
23 Too Close For Confort - (studio)
24 Every Cloud - (studio)
25 Argumentative - (studio)
26 Love, Gloom, Cash, Love - (studio)
27 Portrait Of Ucha - (studio)
28 Beyond Recall - (studio)
29 All The Way - (studio)
30 45 Degree Angle - (studio)
31 Infatuation Eyes - (studio)
32 S' Crazy Pad - (studio)
33 Who's Blues? (bonus track) - (studio)
34 'S Wonderful (bonus track) - (studio)
35 Nichols And Dimes (bonus track) - (studio)

Disk 2

1 Wildflower
2 Mine
3 Spinning Song
4 Query
5 Too Close For Comfort
6 Every Cloud
7 Argumentative
8 Love Gloom Cash Love
9 Portrait Of Ucha
10 Beyond Recall
11 All The Way
12 45 Degree Angle
13 Infatuation Eyes
14 S' Crazy Pad
15 Who's Blue
16 S' Wonderful
17 Nichols And Dimes
  • 9

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Loyalty partners