High Quality Content by WIKIPEDIA articles! It is called a
"sacrifice" fly because the batter presumably intends to cause a
teammate to score a run, while sacrificing their own ability to do
so. As addressed within Rule 10.09(e) of the Official Baseball
Rules, a sacrifice fly is not counted as a turn at bat for the
batter, though the batter is credited with a run batted in. The
purpose of not counting a sacrifice fly as an at bat is to avoid
penalizing hitters for a successful tactical maneuver. The
sacrifice fly is one of two instances in baseball where a batter is
not charged with a time at bat after putting a ball in play; the
other is the sacrifice hit (also known as a sacrifice bunt).
However, a sacrifice fly still reduces a player's on base
percentage, and a player on a hitting streak will have the hit
streak end if he has no official at-bats but he has a sacrifice
Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate?
Let us know about it.
Does this product have an incorrect or missing image?
Send us a new image.
Is this product missing categories?
Add more categories.
Review This Product
No reviews yet - be the first to create one!