0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction

Buy Now

Lilac Girls (Hardcover) Loot Price: R354 Discovery Miles 3 540 You Save: R110 (24%)
Lilac Girls (Hardcover): Martha Hall Kelly
Lilac Girls (Hardcover): Martha Hall Kelly

Share your images

Lilac Girls (Hardcover)

Martha Hall Kelly

 (1 rating, sign in to rate)
List price R464 Loot Price R354 Discovery Miles 3 540 You Save R110 (24%)

Bookmark and Share

Usually dispatched within 8 - 13 working days.

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades.

New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France.

An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences.

For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power.

The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents—from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland—as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten.

In Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly has crafted a remarkable novel of unsung women and their quest for love, freedom, and second chances. It is a story that will keep readers bonded with the characters, searching for the truth, until the final pages.

General

Imprint: Ballantine Books
Country of origin: United States
Release date: April 2016
Authors: Martha Hall Kelly
Dimensions: 244 x 168 x 42mm (L x W x T)
Format: Hardcover - Cloth over boards
Pages: 487
ISBN-13: 978-1-101-88307-5
Barcode: 9781101883075
Categories: Promotions
Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction
LSN: 1-101-88307-3

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

Very good

Fri, 26 Feb 2016 | Review by: Sue H

The author’s extensive research is evident and her soft, subtle, understated way of storytelling spins a comforting and nostalgic cloak around the reader. But don’t be fooled into thinking this book doesn’t pack a punch, the tranquility only emphasises the enormity the impact of war has on humanity. Great read. Full review on my blog: http://crushingcinders.com/lilac-girls/

Did you find this review helpful? Yes (2) | No (0)

Loyalty partners