Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Children's & Educational > Fiction

Not currently available

The Nine Lives of Travis Keating (Electronic book text)
The Nine Lives of Travis Keating (Electronic book text): Jill Maclean

The Nine Lives of Travis Keating (Electronic book text)

Jill Maclean

 (sign in to rate)

Bookmark and Share

We don't currently have any sources for this product. If you add this item to your wish list we will let you know when it becomes available.

Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children's Literature Nominee, 2009On Resource Link's "Best of 2008" ListCLA Children's Book of the Year Award shortlist, 20092009 KIND Children's Honor BookCanadian Children's Book Centre Our Choice, 2009"Starred ChoiceAfter his mother's death, Travis Keating and his father move to Ratchet, Newfoundland, to start a new life. Some life. Travis soon discovers that only a few oddballs show any interest in him: Cole, a talker who soon makes himself scarce; Hector, a strange kid whose ears stick out; and Prinny, a girl as scraggly as her skinny ponytail. Nobody you can really call a friend. And then there's Hud, the toughest, nastiest bully in school, who hates "townies" and promises to make Travis's life an utter misery. But Travis doesn't care. He's got his "funeral face," a tight mask that gives away nothing and allows him to hide his feelings. Funeral face comes in handy, especially with parents and other adults who think they know what you're feeling every minute of the day.But funeral face can also make him reckless, and Travis decides to visit the dangerous Gulley Cove, with its treacherous wharf and its tumbledown fish shacks, which some of the kids say are haunted. Instead of ghosts, Travis discovers a colony of feral cats, sickly and starving, and unused to kindness. Putting aside his own problems to care for them is about to bring Travis more satisfaction-and more danger-than he ever would have thought possible.A stunning first children's novel, The Nine Lives of Travis Keating is a moving story about coping with grief. But more than that, it's about belonging, learning to be a friend, and finding bravery in the most unexpected of places."


Imprint: Fitzhenry & Whiteside Ltd
Country of origin: United States
Release date: September 2008
Authors: Jill Maclean
Format: Electronic book text
Pages: 192
ISBN-13: 978-1-55455-953-4
Categories: Books > Children's & Educational > Fiction > General
Books > Children's & Educational > Life skills & personal awareness, general studies > Personal awareness: safety matters > General
Books > Children's Fiction & Fun > General
LSN: 1-55455-953-7
Barcode: 9781554559534

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!