0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction

Not currently available

My Only Story - A Novel (Hardcover) Loot Price: R338
Discovery Miles 3 380
You Save: R80 (19%)
My Only Story - A Novel (Hardcover): Monica Wood
My Only Story - A Novel (Hardcover): Monica Wood

Share your images

My Only Story - A Novel (Hardcover)

Monica Wood

 (sign in to rate)
List price R418 Loot Price R338 Discovery Miles 3 380 You Save R80 (19%)

Bookmark and Share

Supplier out of stock. If you add this item to your wish list we will let you know when it becomes available.

An unconventional love story frames this graceful, funny, and moving novel by a writer of exceptional talent. Rita, a hair stylist in her 20s attuned to the suffering of others and the ways that she can help, meets John Reed who, she observes, though not yet out of his thirties, ..".seemed old, the way all sad people do." As they come to know, trust, and eventually love one another, John tells Rita "his only story," the one story that each of us tells that defines us the most. In a dark, terrible moment five years earlier, John's brother Roger killed his own wife and then himself, orphaning their then 3-year-old daughter, Aileen. After Aileen is adopted by her dead mother's close-knit trio of sisters, John is excluded from contact with her in memory of his brother's tragic act. With Rita's help, ties are slowly reestablished with Aileen, and John and Rita's own relationship moves in a direction that seems at once inevitable and completely unexpected. An exploration of love, sacrifice, and the bonds of family which will appeal to readers of Lorrie Moore, Ann Hood, and Rosellyn Brown, Monica Wood's novel speaks to our deepest longing and brightest hopes.

General

Imprint: Chronicle Books
Country of origin: United States
Release date: August 2000
Authors: Monica Wood
Dimensions: 210 x 150 x 28mm (L x W x T)
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 293
ISBN-13: 978-0-8118-2714-0
Barcode: 9780811827140
Categories: Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction
Promotions
LSN: 0-8118-2714-3

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Loyalty partners