0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Medicine > Clinical & internal medicine > Paediatric medicine

Not currently available

Poisoned Profits (Electronic book text)
Poisoned Profits (Electronic book text): Philip Shabecoff, Alice Shabecoff

Poisoned Profits (Electronic book text)

Philip Shabecoff, Alice Shabecoff

 (sign in to rate)

Bookmark and Share

We don't currently have any sources for this product. If you add this item to your wish list we will let you know when it becomes available.

In this shocking and sobering book, two fearless journalists directly and definitively link industrial toxins to the current rise in childhood disease and death. In the tradition of Silent Spring, "Poisoned Profits" is a landmark investigation, an eye-opening account of a country that prizes money over children's health.
With indisputable data, Philip Shabecoff and Alice Shabecoff reveal that the children of baby boomers-the first to be raised in a truly "toxified" world-have higher rates of birth defects, asthma, cancer, autism, and other serious illnesses than previous generations. In piercing case histories, the authors identify the culprit as corporate pollution. Here are the stories of such places as Dickson, Tennessee, where babies were born with cleft lips and palates after landfill chemicals seeped into the water, and Port Neches, Texas, where so many graduates of a high school near synthetic rubber and chemical plants contracted cancer that the school was nicknamed "Leukemia High."
The danger to our children isn't just in the outside world, though. The Shabecoffs provide evidence that our homes are now infested with everything from dangerous flame retardants in crib mattresses to harmful plastic softeners in teething rings to antibiotics and arsenic in chicken-additives that are absorbed by growing and physically vulnerable kids as well as by pregnant women. Compounding the problem are chemical corporations that sabotage investigations and regulations, a government that refuses to police these companies, and corporate-hired scientists who keep pertinent secrets massaged with skewed data of their own.
"Poisoned Profits "also demonstrates how people are fighting back, whether through grassroots parents' groups putting pressure on politicians, the rise of "ecotheology" in the pulpits of formerly indifferent churches, or the new "green chemistry" being practiced in labs to replace bad elements with good. The Shabecoffs also include helpful tips on reducing risks to children in how they eat and play, and in how parents clean and maintain their homes.
Powerful, unflinching, and eminently readable, "Poisoned Profits" is a wake-up call that is bound to inspire talk and force change.

"From the Hardcover edition."

General

Imprint: Random House
Country of origin: United States
Release date: August 2008
Authors: Philip Shabecoff • Alice Shabecoff
Format: Electronic book text
Pages: 296
ISBN-13: 978-1-58836-712-9
Categories: Books > Professional & Technical > Environmental engineering & technology > General
Books > Health, Home & Family > Family & health > General
Books > Medicine > Clinical & internal medicine > Paediatric medicine > General
Books > Social sciences > Sociology, social studies > Anthropology > Social & cultural anthropology > General
LSN: 1-58836-712-6
Barcode: 9781588367129

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Partners