0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Browse All departments
  • All departments
Price
  • R100 - R250 (1)
  • R250 - R500 (3)
  • R500 - R1,000 (2)
  • -
Status
Brand

Showing 1 - 6 of 6 matches in All departments

The Diplomat's Daughter - A Novel (Paperback): Karin Tanabe The Diplomat's Daughter - A Novel (Paperback)
Karin Tanabe
R220 R149 Discovery Miles 1 490 Save R71 (32%) Shipped within 7 - 12 working days

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another. During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas internment camp. She feels hopeless until she meets handsome young Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that love can bloom in even the bleakest circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the United States Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front-and, he hopes, a reunion with Emi-unaware that her first love, Leo Hartmann, the son of wealthy of Austrian parents and now a Jewish refugee in Shanghai, may still have her heart. Fearful of bombings in Tokyo, Emi's parents send her to a remote resort town in the mountains, where many in the foreign community have fled. Cut off from her family, struggling with growing depression and hunger, Emi repeatedly risks her life to help keep her community safe-all while wondering if the two men she loves are still alive. As Christian Lange struggles to adapt to life as a soldier, his unit pushes its way from the South Pacific to Okinawa, where one of the bloodiest battles of World War II awaits them. Meanwhile, in Japanese-occupied Shanghai, as Leo fights to survive the squalor of the Jewish ghetto, a surprise confrontation with a Nazi officer threatens his life. For each man, Emi Kato is never far from their minds. Flung together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people will collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" (USA TODAY) storytelling, Karin Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history.

The Gilded Years - A Novel (Paperback): Karin Tanabe The Gilded Years - A Novel (Paperback)
Karin Tanabe
R310 R253 Discovery Miles 2 530 Save R57 (18%) Shipped within 7 - 11 working days

SOON TO BE ADAPTED FOR FILM in A White Lie, a TriStar major motion picture, starring and produced by Zendaya in collaboration with Reese Witherspoon's Hello Sunshine. "Tanabe immerses the reader in a world of romance and manners, but also leaves you gripping the edge of your seat...An elegant and extremely gratifying imagining of one remarkable woman's life." --USA TODAY "Based on the true story of the first African-American woman to ever go to Vassar College. The catch? No one knew she was African-American...Think: "Gatsby" meets college meets an impressive beach read." --theSkimm An Us Weekly "Sizzling Summer Read" * A Time Summer Read Passing meets The House of Mirth in this "utterly captivating" (Kathleen Grissom, New York Times bestselling author of The Kitchen House) historical novel based on the true story of Anita Hemmings, the first black student to attend Vassar, who successfully passed as white--until she let herself grow too attached to the wrong person. Since childhood, Anita Hemmings has longed to attend the country's most exclusive school for women, Vassar College. Now, a bright, beautiful senior in the class of 1897, she is hiding a secret that would have banned her from admission: Anita is the only African-American student ever to attend Vassar. With her olive complexion and dark hair, this daughter of a janitor and descendant of slaves has successfully passed as white, but now finds herself rooming with Louise "Lottie" Taylor, the scion of one of New York's most prominent families. Though Anita has kept herself at a distance from her classmates, Lottie's sphere of influence is inescapable, her energy irresistible, and the two become fast friends. Pulled into her elite world, Anita learns what it's like to be treated as a wealthy, educated white woman--the person everyone believes her to be--and even finds herself in a heady romance with a moneyed Harvard student. It's only when Lottie becomes infatuated with Anita's brother, Frederick, whose skin is almost as light as his sister's, that the situation becomes particularly perilous. And as Anita's college graduation looms, those closest to her will be the ones to dangerously threaten her secret. Set against the vibrant backdrop of the Gilded Age, an era when old money traditions collided with modern ideas, Tanabe has written an unputdownable and emotionally compelling story of hope, sacrifice, and betrayal--and a gripping account of how one woman dared to risk everything for the chance at a better life.

The List: A Novel (Paperback, Original): Karin Tanabe The List: A Novel (Paperback, Original)
Karin Tanabe
R309 R288 Discovery Miles 2 880 Save R21 (7%) Shipped within 7 - 11 working days

Meet Adrienne Brown, a twenty-eight-year-old Wellesley College grad who recently left her glamorous job at "Town & Country "for a spot at the "Capitolist. "Known simply as the "List "to Beltway insiders, it's the only media outlet in D.C. that's actually on the rise. Taking the job means accepting a painful pay cut, giving up perks like free Louboutins, and moving back in with her parents, but Adrienne is certain that her new position will be the making of her career.
And it is--but not at all in the way that she expects. The "Capitolist "runs at an insane pace: Adrienne's up before five in the morning, writing ten stories a day (sometimes on her BlackBerry, often during her commute), and answering every email within three minutes. Just when it seems like the frenetic workload is going to break her, she stumbles upon a juicy political affair, involving a very public senator--and her most competitive colleague. Discovering that there's much more to the relationship than meets the eye, Adrienne realizes she's got the scoop of a lifetime. But should she go public with the story?
Inspired by Washington insider Karin Tanabe's experiences at "Politico, The List "is a riveting debut novel bursting with behind-the-scenes details about what happens when media and politics collide.

The Diplomat's Daughter (Large print, Hardcover, Large type / large print edition): Karin Tanabe The Diplomat's Daughter (Large print, Hardcover, Large type / large print edition)
Karin Tanabe
R716 Discovery Miles 7 160 Out of stock
The Price of Inheritance: A Novel (Paperback): Karin Tanabe The Price of Inheritance: A Novel (Paperback)
Karin Tanabe
R327 R304 Discovery Miles 3 040 Save R23 (7%) Out of stock

In this enthralling new novel from the author of "The List" (a "smartly paced and dishy debut," "Publishers Weekly," starred review), a young woman working in the high-end art world stumbles upon a rare antique--and an irresistible man with a dark past.
After eight years in the American Furniture department at Christie's, twenty-nine-year-old Carolyn Everett is a rising star. But one wrong decision and a scandal leaves her unemployed and broken. Desperate to piece her life back together, Carolyn leaves New York City to work in a tiny antique store in Newport, Rhode Island.
One day at a small county auction, she discovers a piece of Middle Eastern pottery, which she purchases for twenty dollars on a hunch. Curiosity sends her on a mission to find its original owner, and she eventually winds up in the town's United States Navy Base--and in a relationship with notorious womanizer Marine Sergeant Tyler Ford, who claims the relic came to him as a gift from his translator during the early days of the Iraq War. From two different worlds, Tyler and Carolyn become obsessed with the mysterious relic--and each other--until the origin of the art comes under intense scrutiny and reveals a darker side of Tyler's past. Carolyn still feels like there's more to the story, but can she risk attaching herself to another scandal--and does she truly know the man she's fallen in love with?
"The Price of Inheritance "is a rare find of a novel. Engaging, suspenseful, and full of intrigue, it delves into the elite world of big bucks deals and dangerous black market promises, where one woman must decide whether she's willing to gamble her greatest asset--her heart.

The Gilded Years (Large print, Hardcover, Large type / large print edition): Karin Tanabe The Gilded Years (Large print, Hardcover, Large type / large print edition)
Karin Tanabe
R689 Discovery Miles 6 890 Out of stock
Free Delivery
Pinterest Twitter Facebook Google+
You may like...
KitchenFX Magical Defrost Tray
R500 R349 Discovery Miles 3 490
Ultra Link Fabric Optical Wireless Mouse…
R170 R99 Discovery Miles 990
Romoss Sense 6 Power Bank…
 (40)
R599 R369 Discovery Miles 3 690
Linxure Silicone Strap for the Fitbit…
R399 R159 Discovery Miles 1 590
Magbuddy Headrest Mount
R429 Discovery Miles 4 290
Plantronics Backbeat Pro 2 Wireless…
 (29)
R5,999 R4,999 Discovery Miles 49 990
Book Of The Road - Your South African…
Paperback  (1)
R590 R421 Discovery Miles 4 210
FIFA 20
 (1)
R1,099 R999 Discovery Miles 9 990
Romoss Sense 15 Power Bank…
 (6)
R549 R379 Discovery Miles 3 790
Voyager 10 X 50 Binoculars - Black 10x50
R800 R549 Discovery Miles 5 490

 

Partners